Life on Utila.

The other day I sat in complete silence on top of an abandoned hotel and took in the absolute beauty of this island, realizing that this is actually my life.  (Photo above is the view. pc: Red)

To many this lifestyle isn’t glorified; you eat street food almost every meal, there’s no A/C and 95% humidity, nothing but cold showers, you walk everywhere, constantly covered in bruises from nights out and heavy lifting, you loose things all the time, you’re bound to get a staph infection and some how end up with a non-working phone…BUT you do meet some of the most amazing people from all over the world, you scuba dive daily, there’s always somewhere to go dancing at night, a plethora of cold beers, a cold shower is absolutely amazing after a hot as hell day, bruises tell stories, you’re always laughing, private island parties do exist, and there’s always countless adventures to be had.

18945428_10209995505749850_455415826_n.jpg

I felt like this day was never going to come, but I have officially completed my DM! Yes, you read that correctly, I am finally a Dive Master, I just have to go through one more unofficial test, my snorkel test (Proving my drinking abilities by drinking nearly a liter of alcohol through a snorkel) and I’m done.

I have been submerged in learning and love the opportunity of being able to dive daily. There has been countless memories made on the boat and diving with some of my favorite people in the world and there’s always so much damn laughter involved.

18136141_1294414127281022_453680518_n

Little did I know the happiness I felt scuba diving for the past four years in small portions would completely multiply and bring me so much joy as I pursued my DM.

I guess I never really knew what true happiness really was until I was blessed by this Island, it’s scuba diving and such amazing people. The joy that my heart feels from the moment I wake up until my head hits a pillow at the end of the day is absolutely indescribable.

In the nearly 3 months I’ve been on the island I have been blessed with two of the most amazing friends I’ve ever had, Kaylin (Red) and Georgia.

18870684_1327101734012261_657289895_n

This connection we share is beyond words; we finish each other’s sentences, we always agree, and there’s never any judgement. We’ve actually sat down and tried to piece together how this much perfect is even possible and still haven’t found an explanation. We come as a package deal, the trouble three or drunkateers. I have created memories with these two girls that I will forever cherish, basically found my soulmates and am absolutely convinced we were always meant to meet each other.

18944746_1331751963547238_1908167360_n.jpg

The thing about Utila is that it is incredibly easy to fall into a routine, you become amazing friends with locals and with travelers the same. There’s this welcoming vibe over the entire island that pulls you in.

I have found home. Some place that will forever hold a piece of my heart captive.

I didn’t expect to fall this hard for a small island in Honduras, I expected loving it and expected the friendships, but I had absolutely no idea to what extent it would actually be.

Quitting my job and jumping over to Central America was easily one of the greatest decisions I’ve made in my 22 years of living.

Travel on my friends.

One thought on “Life on Utila.

Leave a Reply

